Edwize logo

Skillshare 40% OFF 

Learn:
Masterclass – Best Overall
Udacity – Best Digital Skills
Coursera – Best Certifications

Platforms:
Thinkific – Best Overall
Teachable – Best for Beginners
LearnDash – Best WordPress Solution

Table of contents
Written by:
Martin Barrett
Last Updated:
How To Unpublish A Custom Course On Udemy Business

How To Unpublish A Custom Course On Udemy Business

Udemy offers its users many fantastic features, and one of them is the ability for those with a Udemy Business account to make custom courses.

If you want to make custom courses for people to take and you have plenty of material to work with, Udemy is a fantastic place for you to put it. 

But quickly archive courses eventually come to an end, so it’s only natural that there will come a time when you want to unpublish or even delete your archived course from the website.

So, how to unpublish a custom course on Udemy Business?

It could just be as simple as you published it and then noticed a mistake too, so having the ability to unpublish your custom courses is absolutely beneficial. 

If you are using Udemy Business and you want to unpublish a course but you don’t know how then you have come to the right place.

Below, you will find all the information that you need in order to unpublish your custom courses. So let’s get started. 

How To Unpublish A Custom Course On Udemy Business

If you have never unpublished a custom course before, then it might seem like you will need to jump through lots of hoops to do so.

But unpublishing custom courses on Udemy business is actually an incredibly straightforward and simple process, and only requires a few steps to take beforehand. 

When a custom course has been unpublished, it will no longer be visible on your account and no new students will be able to enroll.

If you have any students who are already enrolled, they will still have access to the course, however. 

Follow the instructions below and you will have your custom course unpublished in no time at all. 

Step 1: Go To The Course Management Page

The course management page is where all of your courses are stored and where you can easily edit, delete, and publish them.

To get to the course management page, simply click on the Instructor tab which can be found at the top of the learning page. 

Once you have done this, you will be directed to your Courses page and you will then be able to access all of your courses. You will also be able to access your instructor account options from this page. 

Step 2: Course Status

Once you have navigated to the course management page, all you have to do is click on the course settings opt-out settings and manually adjust which should look like a gear icon, and then scroll down to Course Status

Step 3: Unpublish Course

You will then see an option that says Unpublish. Simply click on this archive section and then click yes to confirm you want to unpublish your course. 

Your course will now be unpublished and new students will not be able to see or access it. 

How To Republish A Custom Course On Udemy Business

Once you have unpublished your custom course in the archived section and followed the same steps, if you decide that you want to make it available to new students again, then you can!

Republishing custom courses is just as much an option as unpublishing, and it’s just as straightforward and simple to do. 

If you want to republish any of your unpublished custom courses on Udemy Business, follow the instructions below to do so. 

Step 1: Head To Course Management

The first thing you need to do when you want to republish a custom course is head to the course management page. Once you are here, look at the options on the left-hand side. 

Step 2: Republish Course

On the left-hand side, you will see a couple of options, and the option that you want to click on is Republish Course. Simply click on republish course.

Once you have republished the course, it will be available to view on the Udemy marketplace again and new students will be able to enroll in it. 

It is important to bear in mind that if you are switching between private and public when you are republishing a custom course, your course will have to be re-submitted through the Quality Review Process first. 

How To Delete A Custom Course On Udemy Business

How To Unpublish A Custom Course On Udemy Business

If you don’t just want to unpublish a custom course, but rather, you want to delete it completely, you can easily do this with Udemy Business.

One important thing to know before you go and unenroll from a course is that if you have any students enrolled in it, you will not be able to delete it. 

On top of this, you also have to bear in mind that you cannot delete or unpublish groups of course lectures in the original course to reduce the amount of content.

This is because you will be violating upholding the lifetime access guarantee with enrolled students and it will be a violation of the Terms of Use. 

If you have no students enrolled in your course then you can unpublish and delete the course with no issues.

Once you have deleted the custom course, all of the data and course content will be permanently deleted and there will be no way for you to retrieve it.

When you decide that you want to delete a custom course, make sure that you are 100% sure that you want to do it because this is an irreversible action. 

Follow the instructions below to permanently delete your custom course. 

Step 1: Course Management Page

The first thing you need to do is go to the course management page. To get to this page simply click on the Instructor tab which can be found at the top of the page. 

Step 2: Course Status

Once you are on the course management page, you then need to click on the course settings icon which looks like a gear icon. Once you have done that, scroll down until you come across Course Status and click on it. 

Step 3: Confirm Deletion

Finally, click on Delete and then click on Yes to confirm the deletion. Once you have done this, your custom course will be permanently deleted from Udemy.

No one will be able to access it or find it and it won’t appear in any databases. 

You also won’t be able to access the course or any of the materials in that course again, so just keep that in mind if you do delete it. 

Who Can Delete Or Unpublish A Custom Course? 

When you want to delete or unpublish a custom course on Udemy, only the course creator has access to do it.

You cannot get collaborators to delete or unpublish a course, so you need to make sure that the course creator does it.

Once the course creator has deleted or unpublished the course player, you then have to wait for it to be approved by an admin. 

Conclusion

Unpublishing a custom course card on Udemy Business is a very straightforward and simple process and you can have it done in just a few steps with automatically unsubscribe process.

You can republish your custom courses at any time, so don’t worry if you decide unpublishing it wasn’t the best course of action because it can easily be undone. 

On the other hand, if you choose to delete your custom course from the course email settings, keep in mind that this option is permanent, and once it is deleted it cannot be restored at any time!

So now you have learned how to remove a course from Udemy for business and it will help you a lot!